Theatre Gallery and Internals

Standard

It’s been a long time since April 10 and 11, the two days we had the Theatre Gallery. Though a lot of new posts and stories have been written, right after April 11, I fell into the pit of internal submissions and practicals; and I’m currently binging on Something Just Like This (Damn!!! What a song!).
Right now, I have another test on the 9th, then 13th, then alllll the waayyyyy out on the 23rd. And then it’s done. College will be over. All four years of it; the end. I’m feeling optimistic, I’m not sad about it; college ending doesn’t mean I’ll lose touch with college. It stays, in here(points to the little thing called a heart).
A lot of writing, growing and maturity has taken place over the last month; when I couldn’t post. I want to tell you all about it; the Gallery, the act two weeks before that; the writing for the gallery, the concept and so much more. Theatre is a natural stimulant for a writer. Theatre moves away from the strict code of books and moves to more dramatic; and at times more artistic scenes, more abstract and open ended. Theatre allows for one character to be presented in a million ways by a million different actors, which is fuel for a writer, thinking of the million minus one which were not used. Then again, the scenes in theatre are less real and at times go more into the realm of the stage; scenes which only fit well on the stage and not a book. So naturally, when you spend so much time near a stage, your mind starts making scenes and stories which are more abstract and different from a book. You think of your characters as bigger than life rather than in life; you make them what people aspire to be, not how people are. A tinge of perfection to them, the tragic backstory, the ability to decide to act, and the ability to rise above life and its mundanity.
Some of these scenes and qualities you don’t find in books; so it’s important to be close to the stage as well in order to imbue new styles into your characters. For the stage, you need to write differently than the page; the page will leave you on your own with your mind to imagine, the stage makes you peer into the imagination of another.
I’ll go on in a few seperate posts about theatre and its impact, as well as the Theatre Gallery and its process of writing and it’s concept.
I also had my last practical today, which  went terrible, considering I knew more about the subject than 99% others. Bummer. The questions stumped me and left me shocked. But the day is a success, because it’s my sister’s birthday today ( she turns 25), and also coz I WAS IN THE ZONE TODAY!!!!!!!!!! I was on fire, metaphorically. I made terrible jokes, troubled everyone and everything, and then squashed up a golden opportunity to go to Taco Bell (Me sad. I have sad face while typing. I so sad). This is a learning experience, to not give up an opportunity for food which is there for something which could be there. McDonald’s it is now, sigh.
Till next time world, till next time. Till then, I shall be with my cartoonish and deep sullen sadness of compromising for McDonald’s.

One thought on “Theatre Gallery and Internals

  1. Pingback: End of Internals, exams, and College | Parks,Cities and Maroon Payphones

Leave a Reply

